The Usborne Reading Collection for Confident Readers 40 Books

No review yet. Write Review
Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Tax included.

barcode : 978-8729109570

Weight : 4.83 kg


If you’re looking for an impressive collection of stories with plenty of characters, topics and tales, then The Usborne Reading Collection for Confident Readers is a must-have for every young reader’s library at home. The series is aimed at confident readers aged between 5-7. This collection gives children a fantastic variety of short fiction books that will encourage and prompt them to read more, but also more independently. The 40 titles included in this stunning and colourful collection are designed to help children grow as readers within the Usborne Reading Programme.

The Usborne Reading Collection for Confident Readers is jam-packed with a broad range of story styles, easy-to-read text, and fully illustrated colourful pages. This unique approach can prompt young readers to find the themes they enjoy most before making a new choice in the incredible 40-book collection.  This set is the perfect follow-up to The Usborne Reading Collection, giving children 25 new books from Usborne Young Reading Series Two and their first 15 books from Series Three. Build your library today with The Usborne Reading Collection for Confident Readers.

Who’s it for?

The books included from Usborne Young Reading Series Two and Three range from Lexile Level 510L (Adventures of Robin Hood) to 800L (The Story of Cars). This means they’re great for children between seven and eleven years old, in Key Stage 2, or years 3 to 6. The Story of the Olympics has been assessed as 1040L and is suitable for more advanced readers such as a proficient Year 6 child.

Having a reading library like this is crucial to helping children develop their literacy skills. The 40 paperback books come complete in a box that will surely take pride of place on any child’s bookshelf. Each volume is full of bright illustrations that make every story a pleasure to read from cover to cover. With this in mind, these books are a great balance between pictures and text, as readers continue to transition away from books that rely heavily on images. They provide a stepping stone from picture books to reading books.

Children will appreciate the fun-filled yet straightforward storylines, while these books are an ideal learning resource to supplement their literacy lessons from school in the comfort of your own home. These short books are an excellent read for beginners at any time of the day. They might curl up with a good book before winding down to bed or use one as a break from the usual mayhem throughout the day. The Usborne Reading Collection for Confident Readers could also be a brilliant idea for a gift and passed down through siblings. 

What’s in the box?

With 40 impressive stories to choose from, you may not know where to begin! Parents may recognise some classic and historic titles such as Gulliver’s Travels and even The Phantom of the Opera, which have been modernised to suit today’s younger, budding reader. Starting with this can be a great way to engage readers if parents act out some of the characters or use different accents to bring them to life. These choices open up children’s imagination to arts, culture and theatre while maintaining the fun of a fiction story.

Among the epic 40-book collection, there are also some familiar and adventurous titles such as Treasure Island, Robin Hood and The Amazing Adventures of Ulysses. You can even unleash a spooky side with titles including The Canterville Ghost, The Fairground Ghost and The Midnight Ghosts. Rest assured, there are plenty of ways to approach these 40 books in The Usborne Reading Collection for Confident Readers and gradually work your way through the entire set. Encouraging children to choose the books they would like to read first can also be a great place to start, and it won’t be long before they are onto the next one.

About the publisher

Children’s publisher Usborne is renowned for producing some of the bestselling books around. Crowned Children’s Publisher of the Year in 2020, Usborne brings fantastic stories to young readers and knows what will keep them engaged. Usborne has been creating quality titles for several decades, helping millions of children develop essential reading skills through the generations. Each book has been thoroughly planned, researched, and carefully put together to teach children critical reading skills effectively. You may find books that are fantastic for babies, children and young people.

Titles in this set:

Titles from Usborne Young Reading Series Two:

  1. The Story of Cars
  2. Treasure Island
  3. The Story of the Olympics
  4. Mystery Mansion
  5. The Fairground Ghost
  6. The Story of Flying
  7. Jason and The Golden Fleece
  8. The Shocking Story of Electricity
  9. Hercules The World’s Strongest Man
  10. The Amazing Adventures of Ulysses
  11. The Incredible Present
  12. The Magical Book
  13. The Midnight Ghosts
  14. The Prince and the Pauper
  15. A Little Princess
  16. Gulliver’s Travels
  17. Robinson Crusoe
  18. The Phantom of the Opera
  19. Robin Hood
  20. The Firebird
  21. The Canterville Ghost
  22. The Enchanted Castle
  23. Aesop’s Fables
  24. East of The Sun, West of the Moon
  25. Twelfth Night

Titles from Usborne Young Reading Series Three:

  1. The Count of Monte Cristo
  2. Othello
  3. Pride and Prejudice
  4. Jane Eyre
  5. White Fang
  6. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Me. Hyde
  7. Stories of Vampires
  8. Little Women
  9. Pompeii
  10. The Three Musketeers
  11. Oliver Twist
  12. Anne Frank
  13. Frankenstein
  14. The Odyssey
  15. William Shakespeare

From the publisher

A broad range of story styles, all with lively readable text and fully illustrated pages, encouraging children to find the themes they enjoy most, and also give children the option to try something different from time to time. The first 25 books in this collection are taken from the Usborne Young Reading Series Two, in which many of the stories are adaptations of timeless world classics for children and adults alike. The next 15 books are taken from the Usborne Young Reading Series Three, which includes longer adaptations to develop the readers’ stamina, and also history books and biographies, too giving the child a wider curriculum through each book. This collection box set has 40 books inside and all are variations of classic stories, making them a great introduction for young readers.